Good Money, Part I
The New World

By F. A. Hayek
Edited by Stephen Kresge


Hayek’s deep interest in the concept of money and its role within the economy is developed in Good Money, Part I. Consisting of seven of Hayek’s most significant monetary writings from the 1920s, this collection focuses on his critique of the idea that price stabilization is consistent with the stabilization of foreign exchange.

F. A. Hayek (1899–1992), recipient of the Medal of Freedom in 1991 and co-winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1974, was a pioneer in monetary theory and one of the principal proponents of classical liberal thought in the twentieth century. He taught at the London School of Economics, the University of Chicago, and the University of Freiburg.

Stephen Kresge was the general editor of The Collected Works of F. A. Hayek until his retirement in 2002.


Apr 2009 | 6 x 9 | 271 Pages

Editorial foreword by Stephen Kresge, introduction by Stephen Kresge, afterword by Stephen Kresge, name index, subject index.


978-0-86597-745-7 Paperback